howclose.to
Earth & Space · Updated July 2026Momentum · accelerating

How close are we to pulling CO2 from the air affordably?Can we vacuum carbon out of the sky?

or, simply: Can we vacuum carbon out of the sky?or, precisely: How close are we to pulling CO2 from the air affordably?

Plants that pull CO2 straight from the air are running; the open question is cost per tonne and scaling from thousands to billions of tonnes.Machines can already pull carbon from the sky. The challenge is doing it cheaply - and a million times bigger.

We are here

Deep Sky issues independently verified DAC credits - Isometric independently verified and issued North America's first certified DAC removal credits from Deep Sky Alpha, also the first DAC credits carrying the Core Carbon Principles label. The public announcement did not disclose the credited tonnage. Next up - STRATOS targets sequestration (expected 2026).

01 · Where we stand

State of playWhere direct air capture stands right now

The current stage, the honest metric, and the single threshold that gates the next stage. Each threshold is a falsifiable claim with a named next test.How far up the ladder we've climbed, the honest verdict, and the one thing blocking the next step.

The five stagesMaturity ladder
Deployed
Out in the real worldDeployed at scale
Scaling← HERE
Making it cheap enough at scaleScaling toward competitive cost
Engineering
Building one that pays for itselfEngineering a system that pays back
Lab demo
Shown to work in a labDemonstrated in the laboratory
Theoretical
The idea is worked out on paperTheoretical basis established
The honest verdictVerified state

Machines can already pull carbon from the sky. The challenge is doing it cheaply - and a million times bigger.Plants that pull CO2 straight from the air are running; the open question is cost per tonne and scaling from thousands to billions of tonnes.

453Best result so farExpert-elicitation median estimated net-removal cost
100DOE 2032 Carbon Negative Shot ceiling
Blocking the next stepBlocking threshold

Move beyond small plantsHundred-Thousand-Tonne Plant Next test: STRATOS must start sequestration and disclose independently verified net output through a full operating year.

The verdict, in five rungsHow far up the ladder↓ next — the thresholds & the gap
01 · The evidence

The thresholds that gate the next stageWhat has to happen next

Each threshold is a falsifiable claim with a named next test; the gap chart shows how far today's metric sits from the goal.Each row is one thing that has to be proven — and how far today's number is from the target.

Commercial Capture ModuleSell captured air carbon✓ Achieved · May 2017
100%
Proven byHinwil launched with 900 tCO2/year nameplate capacity.
Verified Durable RemovalProve it stays removed✓ Achieved · 2024
100%
Proven byMammoth's first audited 2024 output was 77.49 tCO2e, proving quality but not scale.
Hundred-Thousand-Tonne PlantMove beyond small plantsIn progress
55%
Next testSTRATOS must start sequestration and disclose independently verified net output through a full operating year.
Hundred-Dollar Net TonneMake removal affordableEarly
20%
Next testA commercial plant must publish audited levelized cost and lifecycle net removals at scale.
THRESHOLDS - Thresholds for Direct Air Capture.
Scale
Estimated cost per net, durably stored tonne over time, with measured values, projected values, and a goal at 100 USD/tCO2.1001,000Estimated cost per net, durably stored tonne · USD/tCO2Year20112020202520302032GOAL 100 · DOE 2032 Carbon Negative Shot cei…APS modeled avoided-capture…Expert-elicitation median e…Midpoint of reported $600-1…Midpoint of Climeworks' $40…DOE pathway-wide target, no…~700 USD/tCO2 to goal
NOTE - No audited time series of actual plant-level cost per net stored tonne exists publicly. The 2011 point excludes storage, 2020 is expert elicitation, 2025 is a reported range midpoint, and both future points are targets. The metric is therefore the right outcome measure but presently a weak empirical series.
02 · How we got here

The record behind the verdict

Major events set large; context events set small but never hidden. Everything below the TODAY rule is a schedule, not a result.

1999-20101 event1 shown

Air Capture Reimagined

Air Capture Reimagined begins with climate dac is proposed. The result established the next question for the field.

2011-20162 events1 shown

Pilots Meet Harsh Economics

Pilots Meet Harsh Economics moved the field from aps finds six-hundred-dollar cost to liquid-solvent pilot closes loop. The results narrowed the next question without closing it.

2011
APS finds six-hundred-dollar costSetback
An APS assessment estimated at least $600/tCO2 for a then-buildable chemical DAC system under optimistic assumptions.
2015
Liquid-solvent pilot closes loop
Carbon Engineering's Squamish pilot began end-to-end operation at roughly 1 tCO2 captured per day.
2017-20202 events1 shown

First Commercial Modules

First Commercial Modules moved the field from hinwil opens commercially to megaton design models lower cost. The results narrowed the next question without closing it.

2017
Hinwil opens commerciallyDeployment
Climeworks opened a 900 tCO2/year nameplate plant selling captured gas to a greenhouse, not durable storage.
2021-20247 events2 shown

Policy-Funded Scale-Up

Policy-Funded Scale-Up moved the field from orca couples capture and storage to uk electrochemical dac plant switches on. The results narrowed the next question without closing it.

2021
Orca couples capture and storageDeployment
Orca began operation with 4,000 t/year gross-capture nameplate and Carbfix basalt storage in Iceland.
2021
DOE sets net-removal goal
The Carbon Negative Shot targeted durable removal below $100 per net tCO2e, including capture and storage.
2022
US raises DAC creditPolicy
The Inflation Reduction Act increased 45Q support for geologically stored DAC CO2 from $50 to $180 per tonne.
2023
Electrochemical DAC runs in continuous flow
An MIT bench system captured CO2 from 410-ppm air in a continuous-flow electrochemical cell with estimated minimum work of 65 kJ per mole. This was a component-level laboratory result, not a complete plant-energy measurement.
2023
DOE selects megaton hubs
DOE selected two regional hubs for negotiations totaling up to $1.2 billion, each designed around at least 1 Mt/year.
2023
Heirloom opens Tracy facility
Heirloom opened a renewable-powered limestone DAC facility rated for up to 1,000 tCO2/year.
2023
UK electrochemical DAC plant switches on
Mission Zero commissioned a Sheffield plant with 50 tCO2/year nameplate capacity for synthetic-fuel research. Its captured carbon was intended for utilization and eventual re-emission, not durable removal.
2025-20508 events2 shown

The Verification Reckoning

The Verification Reckoning moved the field from iceland output gap emerges to doe cost deadline arrives. The results narrowed the next question without closing it.

2025
Iceland output gap emergesSetback
Records showed about 2,400 t removed since 2021 versus 12,000 t of three-year Orca nameplate; Mammoth ramp-up was slow.
2025
Deep Sky stores North American DAC carbon underground
Deep Sky reported the first North American underground storage of directly air-captured CO2, using a Skyrenu unit with 50 tCO2/year nameplate capacity. The announcement did not disclose the quantity stored.
2025
Passive crystallizer captures without powered fans
A 100-crystallizer KOH module sustained passive capture for seven cycles over 25 days and used a later electrochemical regeneration step. The cost reductions in the paper were modeled, not measured commercial economics.
2026
STRATOS finds commissioning faultSetback
After Phase 1 tests, Oxy found a non-process facility issue; both 250,000 t/year modules were built but capture had not begun.
2026
Deep Sky issues independently verified DAC creditsWe are here
Isometric independently verified and issued North America's first certified DAC removal credits from Deep Sky Alpha, also the first DAC credits carrying the Core Carbon Principles label. The public announcement did not disclose the credited tonnage.
2026
STRATOS targets sequestrationDeploymentTarget
Occidental still expects STRATOS to begin sequestering captured CO2 during 2026; its full nameplate is 500,000 t/year.
2030
IEA pathway reaches 85 MtDeploymentTarget
The IEA net-zero pathway requires DAC capture above 85 Mt/year in 2030, versus about 0.01 Mt/year in 2022.
2032
DOE cost deadline arrivesPolicyTarget
DOE targets less than $100 per net tCO2e across durable CDR pathways, including lifecycle accounting and storage.
2010-20505 events0 shown

Events outside the declared eras

Events outside the declared eras moved the field from first modern pilot operates to iea pathway nears gigaton. The results narrowed the next question without closing it.

2024
Mammoth starts partial operation
Mammoth started with 12 of 72 collectors installed; 36,000 t/year was full-build nameplate, not achieved removal.
2024
Charged-carbon sorbent lowers regeneration temperature
Researchers demonstrated hydroxide-charged activated carbon that captured ambient CO2 and released it through direct Joule heating at 90-100 C. The material result was laboratory-scale and did not establish low whole-system energy or cost.
2024
Project Bison pauses for lack of clean power
CarbonCapture paused its proposed Wyoming project after failing to secure enough emissions-free energy. Its announced 5 MtCO2/year by 2030 was never built or achieved.
2050
IEA pathway nears gigatonDeploymentTarget
The IEA's published 2022 net-zero pathway reaches about 980 MtCO2/year of DAC capture in 2050.
— end of record · 25 shown, 0 hidden —
25 events · below the TODAY rule = scheduled, not done
03 · The data behind the verdict

Why the meters read the way they do

The learning curves and comparisons that justify each threshold's percentage. Every series is measured, with the source event linked in the timeline above.

Count removals, not machine labels.Verified net removal is 278.3 t/yr; the 2030 pathway is 85 Mt/yr, a 305,426× scale gulf.One dot = one scale claim · verified net removal, nameplate or pathway · tCO₂/year · log scale · 2024–2030One dot = one scale claim · solid = third-party verified net removal · hollow dashed = full-build nameplate or IEA scenario · tCO₂/year · log scale · 2024–2030
Direct air capture verified removals compared with nameplate capacity and the 2030 IEA pathwayMammoth recorded 278.3 t/yr in third-party verified net removals in 2025. Its eventual gross nameplate is 36 kt/yr. The IEA 2030 pathway value is 85 Mt/yr, a scenario rather than a forecast. Nameplate and pathway markers are dashed because neither is achieved net annual removal.NET REMOVAL / NAMEPLATE / PATHWAY · tCO₂ PER YEAR · LOG SCALE10¹10²10³101010101010VERIFIED FRONTIER278.3 t/yrMAMMOTH NAMEPLATE36 kt/yr · NOT NET OUTPUT2030 PATHWAY85 Mt/yr · SCENARIO305,426× REMAINING · 5.5 ORDERS OF MAGNITUDE
Puro.earth · Climeworks · IEA · AS OF JUL 2026
Federal operating support rose 260%, but a subsidy level is not evidence that capture costs fell.
Federal operating support rose 260%, but a subsidy level is not evidence that capture costs fell.020406080100120140US 45Q credit for geologically stored DAC CO2 · USD/tCO2Year20182022180 USD/tCO2
NOTE - Federal operating support rose 260%, but a subsidy level is not evidence that capture costs fell.
  • Full-build nameplate36000 tCO2/year
  • First ten months net105 tCO2
COMPARISON - Mammoth's reported first-ten-month net removal was about 0.3% of its annual full-build nameplate.
  • Reported 2022 capture0.01 MtCO2/year
  • 2030 pathway85 MtCO2/year
COMPARISON - The IEA's 2030 pathway is 8,500 times its reported 2022 global DAC capture level.
  • Pre-IRA 45Q50 USD/tCO2
  • Post-IRA 45Q180 USD/tCO2
COMPARISON - The IRA increased the US credit for geologically stored DAC CO2 by $130 per tonne.
  • Orca nameplate4000 tCO2/year
  • STRATOS nameplate500000 tCO2/year
COMPARISON - STRATOS nameplate is 125 times Orca's, but neither number is verified annual net removal.
Technical notes

Read the evidence more closely

Definitions, system boundaries and experimental caveats behind the headline record.

01Verified removal remains tiny

The first evidence-based global estimate puts 2025 DACCS removal at 0.0015 MtCO₂-about 1,500 tonnes. That is 18 times the revised 2023 quantity, but Orca and Mammoth both remained below nameplate; data covered only through October 2025.

02Sales are not delivered removals

In 2025, the voluntary market recorded 238,453 contracted DACCS credits, 848 issued and 500 retired. Contracted tonnes are future obligations, not achieved removal.

03Gross and net removal are different measures

The report's 1,500-tonne global figure measures gross atmospheric carbon transferred into durable storage minus re-release, whereas registries generally report net lifecycle removal after project emissions. These measures are not interchangeable.

04Low regeneration temperature can still use much energy

The charged-carbon sorbent's low 90-100°C regeneration temperature does not imply low system energy: its authors estimated minimum sorbent-heating demand of 1,800-3,200 kWh/tCO₂, chiefly because demonstrated capacity was low.

05Crystallizer cost reductions are modelled

The passive crystallizer used more than 9 M KOH, achieved capture flux over six times that of conventional liquid contactors, and a 100-crystallizer module averaged over three times conventional flux. Claimed 42% capital-cost and 32% levelized-cost reductions are modelled, not measured commercial costs.

06Liquid-solvent performance depends on site

A nominal 1-Mt/year liquid-solvent contactor must process roughly 57,000 m³ of air per second, while freezing conditions reduce capacity and heating inlet air costs about 0.03 MWh/tCO₂ for every kelvin of warming.

07Deep Sky's capacity figures describe different phases

Deep Sky Alpha's public capacity figures vary by phase: Alberta's funder describes four Phase-1 units totalling about 1,500 t/year expected capacity, while Deep Sky markets the completed centre at 3,000 t/year. Neither number is verified annual output.

04 · What it unlocks

If the remaining tests pass

Downstream capabilities, drawn dashed because they depend on results not yet in.

Direct Air CaptureNeutralize residual emissionsDurable removal could counter emissions that remain extremely difficult to eliminate, after aggressive emissions cuts.Draw down legacy carbonIf scaled beyond net zero, DAC could slowly reduce part of the excess CO2 accumulated in the atmosphere.Closed-loop carbon feedstockCaptured atmospheric CO2 could supply fuels and chemicals when paired with clean energy, though utilization is not permanent removal.
05 · The players & the money

Who is building it-and what the money saysCapital, institutions and the global race

The teams doing the work, where they are based, and whether the money points to real delivery or only a plan.Company finance, public programmes, institutional leadership and market evidence-kept separate from valuations, forecasts and announced capacity.

The short versionCapital and institutional readout

DAC has attracted substantial equity and public support, but verified removal remains tiny relative to nameplate and climate-model pathways. The central race is now to turn pilots into reliable net removals with affordable clean energy, transport and durable storage.

Players

Who is building itCompanies, laboratories and programmes

Climeworks

Switzerland

Develops solid-sorbent DAC and operates capture-and-storage plants with Carbfix in Iceland.

Heirloom Carbon

United States

Develops limestone-looping DAC designed to use renewable-powered kilns.

CarbonCapture Inc.

United States

Develops modular solid-sorbent DAC systems.

Companies, laboratories and programmes working on this problem
PlayerCountryWhat they are doingFundingNamed investorsSource
ClimeworkscompanySwitzerland

Develops solid-sorbent DAC and operates capture-and-storage plants with Carbfix in Iceland.

The company reports more than $1 billion raised since inception; plant nameplate is not the same as verified removal.

2025 additional equity: $162 millionBigPoint Holding · Partners Group · Existing investorsSource · climeworks.com
Heirloom CarboncompanyUnited States

Develops limestone-looping DAC designed to use renewable-powered kilns.

December 2024 Series B: $150 millionFuture Positive · Lowercarbon Capital · Japan Airlines · Mitsubishi Corporation · Mitsui & Co. · Siemens Financial ServicesSource · heirloomcarbon.com
CarbonCapture Inc.companyUnited States

Develops modular solid-sorbent DAC systems.

March 2024 Series A: $80 millionPrime Movers Lab · Amazon Climate Pledge Fund · Aramco Ventures · Siemens Financial Services · TIME VenturesSource · carboncapture.com
Mission Zero TechnologiescompanyUnited Kingdom

Develops electrochemical DAC systems for modular deployment.

Its megaton objective is a future ambition, not achieved removal.

March 2024 Series A: £21.8 millionBreakthrough Energy Ventures · World Fund · Fortescue · Siemens Financial Services · 2150Source · missionzero.tech
Deep SkycompanyCanada

Develops shared test and deployment sites for multiple DAC technologies.

This is a grant commitment for Deep Sky Alpha, not an equity round; the company's $130 million headline mixes funding types.

December 2024 conditional grant commitment: $40 millionBreakthrough Energy CatalystSource · deepskyclimate.com
06 · Sources

Where every number comes from

13 sources — every figure on this page traces to one.